Women and the English Language - Bibliography

Ancestry. ‘What Does Your Last Name Say About You?’ Ancestry: blogs.ancestry.com.

Astor, Nancy. ‘Speech to the House of Commons, 24 February 1920.’ Speakola: speakola.com.

Baby Center. ‘Baby names that work for boys and girls.’ Baby Center: www.babycenter.com, 2018.

BBC News. ‘BBC Starts Pidgin Digital Service for West Africa Audiences.’ BBC News (21 August 2017): www.bbc.co.uk.

BBC News. ‘Leslie, Kerry, Kim, Vivian, Tracy.’ BBC: news.bbc.co.uk, 2005.

Calamia, Joseph. ‘The Physics-Defying Flight of the Bumblebee.’ Live Science (25 February 2011): www.livescience.com.

Emily Post Institute. ‘US Government.’ Official Forms of Address.  emilypost.com/advice.

Fenwick, Carolyn. The Poll Taxes of 1377, 1379, and 1381. Oxford: Oxford University Press/British Academy, 1999.

Guarino, Ben. ‘More than before, children asked to draw a scientist will draw a woman.’ Washington Post (21 March 2018): A3.

Hanks, Patrick, ed. Dictionary of American Family Names. New York: Oxford University Press, 2003.

Hanks, Patrick, Kate Hardcastle, and Flavia Hodges. A Dictionary of First Names. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006. 

House of Names. ‘Estcourt.’ House of Names: www.houseofnames.com.

Jeyifo, Biodun. ‘This Wole Soyinka Play Showed the Future of English.’ BBC Culture (9 May 2018): www.bbc.com.

Kotz Sonja A., and Michael Schwartze. ‘Motor-Timing and Sequencing in Speech Production.’ Eds Greg Hickok and Steve Small. Neurobiology of Language. New York: Academic Press, 2016. Pages 717–724.

Murphy, Heather. ‘Draw a Leader. What’s She Like? Trick Question?’ New York Times (17 March 2018):  A1.

Myszor, Frank. Language Acquisition. London: Hodder & Stoughton, 1999.

Nolte, Brian. ‘519 Boys Named “Sue”.’ Between the Numbers: betweenthenumbers.net, 2013.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. Oxford University Press: www.oxforddnb.com.

Pankhurst, Emmeline. ‘Freedom or Death.’ 13 November 1913. The Guardian (27 April 2007): www.theguardian.com.

Potter, Liz. ‘Suffragette or Suffragist.’ Macmillan Dictionary Blog (6 February 2018): www.macmillandictionaryblog.com.

Radford, Tim. ‘Baby Talk Key to Evolution. The Guardian (20 December 2004): www.theguardian.com.

Reaney, Percy H. and R. M. Wilson. A Dictionary of English Surnames. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1995.

Thurman, Judith. ‘A Loss for Words: Can a Dying Language be Saved?’ The New Yorker (30 March 2015): www.newyorker.com.

UN Women. ‘The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women.’ United Nations: www.un.org, 1979.

United Nations. ‘International Mother Language Day: 21 February.’ United Nations (21 February 2018): www.un.org.

Wilson, Chris. ‘Why There Are So Many More Names for Baby Girls.’ Time (10 May 2016): www.time.com.

Zadik, Daniel. ‘A Handful of Bronze-Age Men Could have Fathered Two Thirds of Europeans.’ The Conversation (21 May 2015): theconversation.com.